Lathe RPM ?

Discussion in 'Horological Tools' started by Sterling, Jan 5, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Sterling

Sterling Registered User

Jun 10, 2009
    jeweler, carburetor builder
    NY
    Sorry, verrrrry basic question here.
    But I just set up my Moseley 8mm with a pulley system and a 1920's sewing machine motor, and shot it with an RPM laser gun.
    It was THROUGH THE ROOF, I thought!

What's the right RPM for cutting brass?
    Steel?
    Burnishing?
    Polishing with compound (on my junk lathe)?

Thanks, all.

2. Firegriff

Firegriff Registered User
    NAWCC Member Donor

Feb 22, 2013
    Male
    If you hooked the motor directly to the lathe be careful with the speed most from the old days had a secondary pulley reduction system to regulate lathe speed and keep the motor RPM up so the motor will not overheat. I am also a newbie and I have pondered speed. I also have the electronic tachometer and have wondered proper speeds. Also I have seen a lot of balances with spread out arms and I bet somebody put them in to remove the balance staff in and started the lathe at too high a speed destroying the balance.

3. karlmansson

karlmansson Registered User

Apr 20, 2013
    Doctor
    Linköping, Sweden
    A countershaft is a good idea. It gives you more inertia in the system and allows you to run the motor at high speeds and still get a good rpm with higher torque at the headstock.

The spindle speed is dependent on the type of material you are cutting and the diameter of the work. Surface feet/min in imperial measurements. You can look it up in the machinerys handbook or multiple online resources.

Or you can arrive at you own conclusions by trial and error. It's also a matter of control if you are just starting out.

Best of luck!
    Karl

4. Sterling

Sterling Registered User

Jun 10, 2009
    NY