Large J Hargreaves Movement

Discussion in 'European & Other Pocket Watches' started by Britannicus, May 22, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Britannicus

Britannicus Registered User

Apr 26, 2016
    IT consultant
    Derby UK
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    #1 Britannicus, May 22, 2019
    Last edited: May 22, 2019
    I just picked up what I thought was a pocket watch movement - though it seems a tad large at 49.5 (ish) mm diameter. I'm guessing a size 24 ? - it's a bit bigger than an 18 - but I'm a trifle baffled by how to go about winding it. Before I try to dismantle it - I'd like to try to understand the movement a bit. I'm a very raw amateur so need some guidance

In principle there is a crown wheel - which in turn winds the barrel - shown here sideways on. Now I'd expect if this was the case that a winding stem at 90 degrees would be part of the case, but I can't see any sort of hole where I'd expect the pivot of the winding stem to go.

The movement winds and runs if I use a thumbnail to wind the crown wheel clockwise (is looking at the face side of the movement) - but clearly there's another piece missing - any ideas how a winding stem would have fitted

There is also a small lever at the 3 position - I'm assuming this is a chronograph lever to stop the second hand, but no idea how that might work

As always your insight would be most welcome

Winding wheel notes  .png

P_20190522_111827.jpg P_20190522_112000.jpg P_20190522_112029.jpg P_20190522_112051.jpg P_20190522_112118.jpg Winding wheel close up .gif

2. SKennedy

SKennedy Registered User

Jan 5, 2017
    Country Flag: