L’epee musical pocket watch replacement parts HELP!

Discussion in 'European & Other Pocket Watches' started by Icarus723, Nov 1, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Icarus723

Icarus723 Registered User

Oct 15, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Im fairly new to watch repair so please forgive terminology and if this post is in the wrong category.

I just recently came across this Swiss L’epee musical pocket watch. 65mm diameter with open escapement.

There are a couple of wheels that govern the musical movement that have broken pivots. I’m pretty sure replacement parts are impossible to locate short of purchasing another one of these as a parts watch. I was hoping someone could direct me to a resource for any company that would be willing to cut me some wheels. Or possibly any long time professionals on here that are in possession of a wheel cutting engine that is willing to work for hire.

The two wheels that are needed are quite small. The first is 9mm across with .7mm teeth. The second is appx 7mm across. If you see in the fourth photo it is the wheel that is attached to the end of the music barrel and the following wheel it contacts. I have been looking into replacing with parts from Swiss musical movements but I was hoping to do this the right way before I resort to anything too drastic.

Any help is, as always, greatly appreciated.

image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

2. Icarus723

Oct 15, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    So, just reading over my post it looks like I neglected to mention. It’s the wheel at the end of the barrel that is missing teeth. The following wheel has a broken pivot.

just learned today I can drill out the broken pivot and replace it. So i will try that after some practice runs on spares, but still need the wheel with missing teeth replaced unless there is a repair I don’t know about that would help in this case. Please educate.