Kundo Pin Pallet Escapement

Discussion in '400-Day & Atmos' started by Harry Hopkins, Sep 13, 2016.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Harry Hopkins

Harry Hopkins Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Nov 16, 2011
    Retired Instrument Technician
    Mason, IL
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    A few days ago I found and bought what appeared to be a very common and ordinary Kundo 400 day clock. I am by no means an expert on these clocks but I do have a collection of about 40 of them... most all of them very commonly seen circa 1950's variety as this one is. This clock was complete but had a broken suspension spring so today I made up a new suspension unit to see if it wanted to run as it was. I identified the back plate as 1379.. Once I had the pendulum hanging again I looked through the inspection holes to set the beat and noticed for the first time that this clock had a pin pallet escapement. Upon a little more research using the 400 day guide I read that Kundo only made the pin pallet escapement for a short while and there is even a note on how to convert it to a Graham deadbeat. Apparently there must have been some pitfalls to having the pin pallet escapement in a torsion clock. With only winding the clock and setting the beat with the new suspension spring the clock seems quite robust. I had some fluttering but raised the fork and now I have about 270 degree rotation and at least 3/4 inch overswing in each direction. I can only assume it will run even stronger after a complete overhaul and new mainspring. Does anyone know what problems were common with this escapement that caused them to go back to the deadbeat? Any different adjustments I need to make to ensure it will be a reliable clock?

Attached Files:

2. Tinker Dwight

Tinker Dwight Registered User

Oct 11, 2010
    Calif. USA
    The pins are very hard and easily broke, especially
    when assembling.
    Tinker Dwight