• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center are currently open. Please check the Visiting Schedule for Days and Hours at the bottom of the Visit Page.

Kundo Clock plastic dome/adjust hour hand

mattw26

Oct 14, 2020
Country
I just bought a Kundo dome clock. It is a quarts clock (battery operated) that chimes on the hour, which is why I found it appealing. I have two questions about it:
1) The hour hand is not properly aligned with the minute hand. When I turn the dial to adjust the time, both hands turn. When the minute hand is on 12, the hour hand is halfway between the two numbers. Is there a way that I can adjust this? I am inclined to loosen the nut in the center of the clock where the hands are attached but am afraid of the clock falling apart. I am not a professional so I don't think this is something I should be doing. I am attaching a picture of the clock that is supposed to be set to 4:00. As you can see, the minute hand is on the 12, while the hour hand is between the 4 and the 5. I have two other quartz clocks and one mechanical clock (all Kundos) and I know that the quarts clock dial is supposed to move both the hour and minute hand such that the hour hand is in the correct spot relative to the minute hand. For mechanical clocks, the minute hand has to be moved by hand, but the hour hand moves automatically with it. Ultimately, the two hands can not normally be adjusted separately. Is there a way I can do this or should I have a professional do it?

2) I believe the clock I received had a plastic dome. Did Kundo ever make plastic domes or were they always glass? This dome sounds like plastic when I tap it and it has a flat spot on the top of it, commonly seen with plastic. I am attaching an image of this with a red square around the flat spot.