ATO Junghans ATO battery clock

Raymond Rice

NAWCC Member
Feb 14, 2011
NYS
Country
Region
This is my first time posting in the electric forum. A friend of mine is downsizing to a smaller house and is selling off some of his collection. I'm really more into clocks in the 200 year old range, but this one looked interesting. It uses a special 1 1/2 volt battery, naturally, the battery was deader than a beaver hat. (The battery is available from Timesavers for $24 plus shipping). As an experiment I ordered a D cell battery holder from Amazon (package of 4 for $6, next day delivery!) The single D cell fits nicely in the battery enclosure and the clock runs very well -- I have its timekeeping regulated and it seems to be a good timekeeper. The dome is not original, but it fits well enough to suit me.
I have a Kundo and a Poole domed electrics, so I guess one could say I have a collection of battery clocks.
Ray Rice

PA160020.JPG PA160017.JPG

Reactions: etmb61

Toughtool

Aug 12, 2016
Panama City, FL
Country
Nice clock indeed! I like your idea for a battery upgrade, especially if it requires no modification to the clock. How about a photo? $24.00 per battery seems a little high to me.

Raymond Rice

NAWCC Member
Feb 14, 2011
NYS
Country
Region
Toughtool, here is a picture of the original battery, the unmodified battery enclosure , and the D cell holder.
Ray Rice

PA170003.JPG PA170001.JPG PA170002.JPG

Burkhard Rasch

NAWCC Member
Jun 1, 2007
Twistringen
Country
Region
a good quality , nice and collectable clock,congrats! Please show some pics of the movement/the "works"
Burkhard

The lions roar

New User
Mar 4, 2021
Country
Toughtool, here is a picture of the original battery, the unmodified battery enclosure , and the D cell holder.
Ray Rice

View attachment 617469 View attachment 617470 View attachment 617471
I have the same clock only gutted, do you have a photo of what and how the battery ties together?