Junghans A12 fly pinion repair

eemoore

Apr 26, 2008
I am repairing a Junghans A12 movement and the fly pinion is damaged.It is a 7 leaf pinion and I need a replacement or repair. Is it possible to repair the pinion , and how is this done? Also is it totally necessary to have a fly inorder for the strike to correctly work. I am new to this so I appreciate any suggestions. I have tried to find a replacement arbor and pinion but no luck so far. Thanks for any suggestions. IMG_2735 2.jpeg IMG_2735 2.jpeg

Willie X

Feb 9, 2008
eem,

Try searching 'pinion repair' and yes this is a routine 'thing to do' in clock repair.

Also, yes the strike train has to have a fly. It acts as both a governor and to cushion the shock every time the train is abruptly stopped.

Willie X

shutterbug

Staff member
NAWCC Member
Oct 19, 2005
North Carolina
Country
Region
This will be a fairly easy repair. Do a search for "lantern pinion repair".

eemoore

Apr 26, 2008
What is actually wrong with the lantern pinion? It appears that it is missing one trundle wire.
One of the wires(leaf) in the pinion has broken and I am trying to fix it. Some other members ave referred me to search for "repairing pinions" so I am going to try that. Thanks very much for your help and consideration.

eemoore

Apr 26, 2008
eem,

Try searching 'pinion repair' and yes this is a routine 'thing to do' in clock repair.

Also, yes the strike train has to have a fly. It acts as both a governor and to cushion the shock every time the train is abruptly stopped.

Willie X
Thanks so much for the info. I will try to research this out. I am an old man trying to learn a new hobby! Thanks again.

eemoore

Apr 26, 2008
What is actually wrong with the lantern pinion? It appears that it is missing one trundle wire.
Yes thank you again. I now understand that the little wires are also call " trundle wires". I have gotten the old broken trundle out so now I am going to try to replace it with a new one. Any suggestions are appreciated.