jefferson golden secret motor making noise

Discussion in 'Electric Horology' started by whatgoesaround, Feb 22, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. whatgoesaround

whatgoesaround Registered User

Jan 22, 2008
    Male
    science teacher
    south carolina
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hello,.

I started hearing a high pitched, rubbing sound coming from my golden secret. I have take the motor out and taken off the brass colored housing. I see no other way to progress further. Is there anything I can try? It sounds like the disc shaped part is perhaps rattling or rubbing. I have very little knowledge of how to fix this, obviously, and am hoping someone can instruct me. thanks in advance for any advice.

2. THTanner

THTanner Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jul 3, 2016
    Male
    Carson City, Nevada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
  3. whatgoesaround

Jan 22, 2008
    Male
    science teacher
    south carolina
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Here are the pics of the golden secret motor. I doubt they are of any use, but I can not get in further unless I break where it was soldered. I don't think a regular soldering iron will have any effect, but I guess I need to figure out something. It still runs, however the noise clearly is telling me something is wrong.

2019-2-24 123.JPG 2019-2-24 124.JPG

4. davefr

davefr Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Nov 29, 2008
    Semi Retired Engr. Mgr - Currently Rebuilding Tele
    Oregon
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: