Jacques I think

Discussion in 'General Clock Discussions' started by Steve Newquist, Apr 8, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
?

Is this a sought out clock

1. Yes

100.0%
  2. No

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Steve Newquist

Steve Newquist New Member

Apr 8, 2020
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Hello members, as a noob I have little to no knowledge of fine Grandfather clocks . What I do know is, I have a beautiful (almost 8ft) 13 tube beauty. It has been in my family for 3 generations. Originally purchased by my Great Grandfather around 1915.
    Trying to find the REAL maker of the clock, and I'm sure you pros can help.
    I say jaques because, that is the maker that most (looks)matches my clock.
    The name that it shows is California Furniture Co. Los Angeles. Please tell me what you think.
    Thanks
    Ps. It is in excellent working condition

20200313_111928.jpg 20200309_131031.jpg 20200309_131015.jpg 20200309_131000.jpg 20200309_131042.jpg

gleber likes this.
  2. JTD

JTD Registered User

Sep 27, 2005
    Welcome to the board.

You say you are looking for the 'real' maker of your clock. Do you mean who made the movement? If so,we would need to see photos of the movement, particularly the back plate which may have the maker's name or logo.

Of course there may be others here who have more knowledge of who supplied the California Furniture Co.

JTD

Steve Newquist likes this.
  3. Raymond Rice

Raymond Rice Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Feb 14, 2011
    Retired IBM manager, retired politician, now just
    NYS
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Based on the impressive playlist --that is one fine chime clock!
    Ray

4. jkfabulos

jkfabulos Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Aug 21, 2001
    In Tran Duy Ly's Longcase guide this clock is shown listed in the Borgfeldt & Co. 1922 catalog as a Jacques.