J W Benson

Andra

Nov 27, 2020
Country
Hi,
Total newbie here.
Can anyone tell me anything about this pocket watch. I bought it as part of a scrap silver for remelt and it seems a shame to destroy it. Watch 1.jpg For a start is it worth anything or is it worth just scrap silver value.
Thank you Watch 2.jpg Watch 3.jpg

Dr. Jon

NAWCC Member
Dec 14, 2001
New Hampshire
Country
Region
Hie Andra! Welcome to this forum.
Benson was a large firm selling many watches in England. They made lots of grades from barely useful to very fine. YOurs is at the low end but very solidly made. It does not have a lot of collector value.

The case is a good example of hallmarked English silver. It is well made and if it were anything but a watch case it would be a valued example of English silver work.

The "S" is a date letter. It looks to me to be 1881 for when the case was assayed. That makes this watch about 140 years old. The movement looks right for that period. The small marks are notations by the people who serviced it, so this watch looks to have worked for a long tme for its owner(s).

If it runs it is OK to use it on occasion but to put it into real service it shoudl get a cleaning and overhaul. The economics of this are difficult. Such work will cost more than you would be able to sell the watch to recoup but far less than a new watch of similar quality costs.

Andrew Wilde

NAWCC Member
Feb 18, 2020
Berkshire, UK
Country
Hi Andra,
Dr Jon is right, is not hugely collectable, but I strongly believe you'd get more than the silver scrap value for it on, for example eBay.
I think he may have misread the hallmark - I'm certain it's 1933.
Cheers ... Andy

gmorse

NAWCC Member
Jan 7, 2011
Breamore, Hampshire, UK
Country
Region
Hi Andra,