IWC Watch - Care

Discussion in 'Wrist Watches' started by NahumS, Sep 9, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. NahumS

NahumS Registered User

Jan 25, 2016
    Country Flag:
    I recently received an IWC watch - it seems to be from the 1950's and came with a box (I think it's original) bearing a label: Max Birnbaum Uhrmacher, Luzern. The watch repairman told me it was gold and mentioned a value that seemed considerable to me. The watch did not require repair and keeps good time, although I don't think it had been worn for decades.
    How should I care for this watch? Is it extremely careless of me to wear it every day? (I work in education - not as a mechanic or diver). I remove it at home for washing dishes, cooking or cleaning. Is it risky to wear it to work?
    Thanks for the advice!

iwc.JPG

2. roughbarked

roughbarked Registered User

Dec 2, 2016
    watchmaker
    Western NSW or just this side of the black stump.
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    #2 roughbarked, Sep 9, 2020
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2020
    If it is actually gold rather than gold plated, the back should be gold in colour and it should be stamped with a 9ct, 14ct, 18ct. Type stamp.
    The watch is probably long overdue for a service and should be put into the hands of a competent watchmaker for at least a quote.
    You wouldn't try to drive a second hand car far without checking the oil and coolant at the very least.

Being a dress watch, it wasn't designed to be worn anywhere else much other than the gentlemans club.
    It should definitely not be worn to the beach, the garden or anywhere near the dishwashing or car washing scenarios. One should definitely remove it when washing hands.

Wearing a gold watch every day is simply wasting the gold value of the watch. A little bit disappears every day.

3. MrRoundel

MrRoundel Registered User
    Donor

Dec 28, 2010
    So. Cal., USA
    Country Flag: