Is this a Vienna Regulator movement?

Discussion in 'General Clock Discussions' started by Silver Forge Studio, Apr 2, 2015.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Silver Forge Studio

Silver Forge Studio Registered User

Feb 22, 2015
    I work in healthcare for insurance and a pension-
    Virginia
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Trash man called today- had some brass scrap and a couple of old clocks- so I looked at what he had and made a buy- all of it.

I'm new to clocks and watches- but not new to scrapping metals and haunting the scrapyards has put my name out there for any old clocks at better than scrap value (so I can amass a horde of things to "practice/work" on). Looks like its working- the word is getting out.

This movement followed me home safe and sound in a new box with fresh newspaper padding- it was living in a tote-bin with rusty bits of tools and broken metal bits- a real homeless shelter/skid row for clocks!

After a few search engine trolls and about 3 more than my limit cups of coffee... This looks like a 2 weight Vienna Regulator movement...

But that is where I am right now- I am un-knowledgeable and looking at Gustav Becker style movements- I have a partial match- the oil and pivot positions as well as the chime plate match (at least for style)... but there is no makers mark. So no way to know.

I do not think I have found a Gustav- just trying to get a good ID on the movement to gather intel with... and try to find out what "Level" it is:
    1- Beginner
    2- You need to wait awhile
    or 3- You better put that down... (As my dad would say).

Looking for thoughts, hints, tips, book titles, stray movements... Any input on skill level?

Thanks folks- be safe and have a great day! My daffodils are our and finally opening! Its FINALLY spring- WOO HOO! (now begins yard-work season!)

mystery5FRONT.JPG mystery4BACK.JPG Mystery3.JPG

2. tarant