Is my cousin being scammed on a clock repair?

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by Carl Alelyunas, Jul 31, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Carl Alelyunas

Carl Alelyunas Registered User

Jan 20, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    I'm not sure if this is the right forum for which to discuss this, but I'm trying to decide if my cousin is being scammed by a local clock repairman.
    She has a Seth Thomas kitchen clock with a sticky strike train that she's fond of, and before she knew that I was a serious hobbyist she took it to a local guy for an estimate. He said it would be $450, thanks, which surprised her, and she asked my advice. Now, I know that a competent professional doing an excellent job (all pivots polished, all bushings redone, lantern pinions repaired, springs replaced with German parts, plates polished, etc- I mean a *good* job) of rebuilding a turn-of-the-century American clock can run to $450, and I told her that.

But I also said that I'd do it for free, because my wife won't allow me to buy any more clocks before I sell some, and I really like all my clocks, and I need one to work on.

Anyway, she went back to get the clock from the repairman, and it is in parts on his bench (!) and he says it's an especially rare and valuable clock that he just assumed she would want repaired.

To me, that sounds like extortion- you don't take apart a customer's clock unless they have contracted with you to repair it. It begs the question of whether he'd be competent to restore it in the first place, or if he's a "Rathbun Wrangler".

Two questions: Does this seem really sleazy? And is there a type of Seth Thomas kitchen clock that has some special sort of cachet that would pop its value out of the $200 range? I'll try to get a picture of it and post it, but when I saw it in her living room last year, it just looked like a pressed oak face kitchen clock with alarm.