Inherited Family Clock

Discussion in 'Your Newest Clock Acquisition' started by Will_C, Feb 20, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Will_C

Will_C Registered User

Feb 19, 2018
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Hello everyone,

My name is Will, I am new with this being my first post. I just had one of the family clocks passed on to me from my father. It is a Sessions, purchased in 1918 via mail order from Hartsman in Chicago. I do not know an exact model number and haven’t found an exact match online yet.

A fairly detailed history of the clock was recorder by my great uncle on a card he stored in the case. The card was full so I added a second card to continue recording the history.

The movements seem sound and I’m currently adjusting its timing as it runs. The springs were binding so I oiled them with Mobil 1 0w-20. I think it’s a solid enough synthetic to keep it running without humming until I get a chance to have it fully serviced by a professional.

One thing I want to do myself is properly clean the case. I do not want to refinish anything, just clean it and restore the original color, along with preserving the label. I have been doing a ton of research from your previous posts and I thank you for your knowledge.

What has been my biggest hang up, research wise, is finding a way to clean the painted faux marble and bringing out its original color. There are also a ton of more suggestions I know I need but can’t verbalize. I have lots of ideas but your suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for letting me share this with you. I’ve developed an overnight obsession with this clock and everything it truly represents.

Best regards,
    Will