Inherited Clock turns hobby...

Dan Cook

Feb 20, 2020
Country
Hello, I recently inherited a Howard Miller grandfather clock, model 610-355. The clock itself looks like it’s brand new, but it was first sold back in 1986. The movement definitely needs attention... the chime will constantly run, and the strike isn’t working at all. The clock is keeping good time, but I stopped it in case letting it run could create further damage.

I’m sure many won’t recommend that I do the work myself, but I’m an engineer by trade, and have taken on many other tedious hobbies in the past. Are there any good ways to get this started ‘as a hobby’? A particular movement that I could look for on EBay that can be disassembled and reassembled for practice, or maybe a good kit to get started with. It looks like it could be fun, as well as satisfying if it actually works afterwards.

Thanks!
Dan Cook
Lexington, SC

leeinv66

Staff member
NAWCC Member
Mar 31, 2005
Launceston Tasmania
Country
Region
Welcome aboard Dan! I am going to move your post over t our clock repair forum, as you will be spending plenty of time there by the sounds of your post.

Kevin W.

NAWCC Member
Apr 11, 2002
Nepean, Ontario, Canada
Country
Region
A good practice movement is a 30 hour ogee, no main springs to contend with. I would leave the gf clock till later when more experience is gained.

Joe Somebody

Jan 29, 2020
Country
Hello Dan! Your story sounds familiar. I inherited my father in laws clock and decided to fix it. Bought some tools and got hugely lucky getting mostly what i needed to complete this repair.

You can get a great deal of info here: "How To Do It" Articles!

Regards,
Joe

R. Croswell

Apr 4, 2006
Trappe, Md.
www.greenfieldclockshop.com
Country
Region