Ingraham Count Wheel Question

MuseChaser

NAWCC Member
Feb 5, 2019
Country
Region
I just cleaned and reassembled an Ingraham for testing. As I'm still learning and inexperienced, and this movement is not exactly like the Ingraham in Conover's Strike book, I could use a little bit more help from any expert willing to chime... or, ahem... "strike"... in.. ;)

As the movement is currently assembled, the hour and 30-minute strikes occur at about x:10 and x:40 instead of x:00 and x:30. Here's a pic just prior to striking the hour...

IngBeforeStrike.jpg

Pin A, small arm B, and brass collar C are all attached to arbor D. Small arm B drives pin A, which swivels loosely around arbor D until arm B contacts it.

One more pic, and then a hopefully clear question....

IngAsStrike.jpg

Should lever A, after being tripped by and falling off of pin A (as labeled in the previous pic), land on brass collar B in this pic, or on arbor C itself? If I bend that lever enough to get it to land on the arbor instead of the collar, the clock strikes as it should, but still 10 minutes too late.

Obviously, I don't completely understand this movement yet. Thanks for any help anyone's willing to offer.

wow

NAWCC Member
Jun 24, 2008
Pineville, La. (central La.)
Country
Region
B in your first photo is bent. The end of the half circle pushes the trip lever. Yours is bent so the center is pushing it. That is why it does not strike at the right time.

Willie X

Feb 9, 2008
It will become more obvious when you get the clock apart. Ingraham had some odd contraptions on their 'set backwards' mechanisms.

A few weeks ago someone posted a close-up photo of one of these features, out of the case. Yours may not be exactly the same though.

Willie X

MuseChaser

NAWCC Member
Feb 5, 2019
Country
Region