Information needed from this musical repeater pocket watch

sternerp

Nov 23, 2010
Country
Dear forum readers and pocket watch experts!

My collection has some new pocket watches, now I present one of the most special pieces. This is one musical quarter repeater watch, maybe from the early XIX century? Unfortunately has some faults, and I don't know if I can find a suitable watchmaker for repair in my environment. I'm not an expert on these watches, but I noticed these mistakes right away. I marked these faults with a red circle.

I have a few questions. There are 3 tiny switches on the case, what is their function? I think not many watchmakers could produce these complicated pocket watches at that time. But which manufacturers made such watches? I looked for pictures from similar musical repeater watches, and I found a few. But there were usually fewer sound rods in those (25-32). In this one, however, I counted 38! How rare is this? And if I saw correctly, 2 pieces unfortunately missing;-(

Approximately how much would a full renovation of such a watch cost?

Any new information is welcome!

1657195445496.jpg 1657195661360.jpg 1657196679260.jpg 1657195661346.jpg 1657196679251.jpg 1657195445474.jpg 1657195445486.jpg faults.jpg 1657195661371.jpg

gmorse

NAWCC Member
Jan 7, 2011
Breamore, Hampshire, UK
Country
Region
Hi Peter,

As it happens, I have a similar watch on the bench at the moment.

DSC01890.JPG DSC01891.JPG DSC01905.JPG

The square for the minute hand isn't the cannon pinion, it sits on a post and the actual second wheel arbor is to the left of it in the third picture. The wheel is mounted on a pin which runs through the hollow second arbor to allow hand setting, in the usual Swiss fashion. The lever at 5 in the first two pictures selects how the repeater sounds, either on the gongs or the music. There's also a single slide which appears to enable or disable all the sounds.