American PW Illinois Autocrat stem release

klevay

Jan 24, 2010
South Florida
Region
Hello to everybody!
I am a novice in watch repair and need some help from experienced members. I was given an old Illinois Autocrat pocket watch. The watch runs, but it was stored for a very long time and needs a good cleaning. Previously I was able to successfully disassemble, clean and re-assemble two pocket watches and since then they have been happily running again.
However, with my new cleaning project, the Autocrat, I have a problem of stem removal. (I am including a picture of a movement that looks just like mine.) There are two screws to the left and right of the crown wheel, but none seem to release the stem. One of them holds movement in the case, and another (between click and crown wheel) looks more like a bridge screw. Two other pocket watches I dealt with have a typical set lever screw near the crown wheel, but this Autocrat has not.
Is there a trick for stem release? How do I do it properly? Please help!

Attachments

Kevin W.

NAWCC Member
Apr 11, 2002
Nepean, Ontario, Canada
Country
Region
Klevay why to you wish to remove the stem?
Normally the stem is removed when movement is out of the case.Just pull the stem to the out position and remove movement screws and the movement should come out.
After the movement is out of the case the stem can be removed by unscrewing from the crown.

doug sinclair

Aug 27, 2000
Calgary, Alberta
Country
Region