Identify Maker In Order to Repair

Quarter2

Apr 7, 2021
Country
Hello to all readers. I am quite excited to finally join NAWCC and participate in the forums. I am just beginning my new life in clock repair and would appreciate some help with this clock. I have not been able to identify the clock by any part of the movement nor case. I came accross this clock from a fellow who accidentally dropped it on the floor ane caused quite the damage. The case has been mostly rebuilt but the movement needs work. Any help with the maker would be appreciated. Phots as follows: IMG_0464.jpeg IMG_0471.jpeg IMG_0474.jpeg

Willie X

Feb 9, 2008
Quar,

Welcome to the MB.

The keyhole movement mount holes are a clue, They were only used by a few manufacturers. IMOE, knowing the maker has little to no effect on repairing any old clock. Unless maybe you plan to look for a donar movement? No parts are available otherwise, except a few generic parts like suspension springs, weight cords, etc.

Outlining exactly what you need there will help a lot.

Willie X

Reactions: Dave T

Quarter2

Apr 7, 2021
Country
Thanks Willie. I will have to look at taking the movement appart to see the extent of the damage. i am somewhat intimidated by the profusion of levers seen on the movement.
Quarter2

Willie X

Feb 9, 2008
Just take photos, make notes, and be sure to check for washers/spacers on every post, spring placement, etc. Some may have never been dissembled. Willie

PatH

NAWCC Fellow
NAWCC Member
Dec 5, 2014
Texas
Country
Region
Welcome, Quarter2!

This appears to be a grande sonnerie movement, so there is much more to consider here than in other 3-train movements. From the pictures, it seems there are missing parts that may not be readily available, as Willie X said. Could you tell us a little about your previous clock repair experience, as well as what tools you have? This will help advise on how to get started.

shutterbug

Staff member
NAWCC Member
Oct 19, 2005
North Carolina
Country
Region