• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center are currently open. Please check the Visiting Schedule for Days and Hours at the bottom of the Visit Page.

IBM IBM Master clock help

timelyrestorations

NAWCC Member
Jan 26, 2001
Country
I have a 1940 IBM master clock that came out of one of the local schools. The mechanical portion of the clock works fine, as in when I manually wind the spring, it will continue to run until the reserve spring power is depleted. Unfortunately the coil will not energize to wind the spring as it is supposed to. I have had the clock at a so called "electronics" guru for the past 6 months. He assures me that the coil is good, but cannot figure out why it will not energize. I had heard of a conversion kit to by pass the coil, but he can see no way of doing this. Any suggestions of what I should check?
Doug

ibm1.JPG ibm2.JPG

sundy58

Aug 23, 2014
Donna, TX
Country
Region
I have no knowledge of your clock, I do have general electronics knowledge. The coil can be checked with an ohm meter. If it is not an open then a DC voltage applied should cause the coil to energize. If there is a diode on the coil then only one polarity of DC voltage will flow through the diode/coil.

ibm clock

Sep 5, 2005
If you push in the relay by hand, does the winding armature pull in? On the front of the movent are two contacts. The upper one will close once a minute to wind the clock and advance slaves.

ibm clock

Sep 5, 2005
i attached a diagram of a typical master clock schematic. this was for an external power supply, but yours is internal, but does the same thing. When I find it, Ill post the circuit description.

from the front of the movement, the upper contact is the Minute Impulse contact. the lower one with the two contact blades is the Stop and Advance contacts