IBM 35 slave synchronization

Discussion in 'Electric Horology' started by giorgio, Jun 16, 2016.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. giorgio

giorgio Registered User

Feb 18, 2004
    University Professor
    Santa Barbara, California
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I have an IBM 35 Master Clock with two slaves which have bee working well. I have just acquired a third slave (three wires) but I have not been able to synchronize it with the other two. I should be quick to add that I am not an electric clock guy and quite ignorant about slaves. The issue is that the new slave advances 15 "clicks" (minutes) when the Master reaches the hour (at 12). I have connected the three wires (A B C) to the existing connectors on top of the Master where the other two slaves are also connected. The new slave advances in unison, but, as I said, when the Master reaches the hour, only the new slave advances 15 minutes.

Please tell me what to do in simple language. Thanks

2. harold bain

harold bain Registered User
    NAWCC Member Deceased

Nov 4, 2002
    Male
    deceased
    Whitby, Ontario, Canada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Check the correction contacts to make sure it has a clean switch from the A to the B line at the hour.
    Also make sure the A and B lines are not reversed.

3. giorgio

giorgio Registered User

Feb 18, 2004
    University Professor
    Santa Barbara, California
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Thanks Harold. I have replicated the connections of the previous two slaves to the new one. All three click at the same time at the minute. The first two, however now have gone exactly one hour ahead of the Master, while the third, the added one, still advance 15 minutes at the hour (12 on the dial). I am frustrated.

How do I get the two original slaves to synchronize with the Master? The three salves are in the same room and close together.

4. neighmond