Howard tower clock advice please.

Michael Gorham

Nov 4, 2011
I am about to buy out the contents of a Master watchmaker's shop who is retiring after 50 years in the business and need advice about the best way to sell this Howard tower clock, fully and expertly restored by him. It is complete and original except for the dial and hands and fully functional.

It will not be available for a few weeks and needs to be removed from its current upstairs location.

I think it may be the No. 31 but I'm not an expert.

hubertclock (1).jpg

hubertclock (2).JPG

hubertclock (3).jpg

Steven Thornberry

User Administrator
Staff member
NAWCC Member
Jan 15, 2004
Here and there
Country
I've moved this to the tower clock forum where I think it will do better.

doug sinclair

Aug 27, 2000
Calgary, Alberta
Country
Region
If you go to FORUM TOOLS at the top of the TOWER CLOCK forum and click on it, then go to SUBSCRIBE TO FORUM and click on that, you will get updates that there has been activity on the tower clock forum.

gvasale

NAWCC Member
Mar 30, 2005
webster, Ma
Country
Region
There sould be several ways for you to sell this. Auction house, on line auction, in one of this boards "for sale" areas. Importantly, where is it?

Jim DuBois

Gibbs Literary Award
NAWCC Member
Sponsor
Jun 14, 2008
Magnolia, TX
Country
Region
Just to comment on "complete and original". Given it has been repainted, and incorrectly so, "complete and original" is not a valid description. May seem like splitting of hairs but it does make a big difference to some potential buyers.

Michael Gorham

Nov 4, 2011
Thanks for your advice, gvsale, it's in the Mid-West.

Jim, you're right and I thought about that after I posted.

It's original in that no parts have been replaced but the original ones were glass blasted, some parts chromed, hand sanded until all 200 component parts were immaculate but the elegant dull green finish of the brass and the dark green of the original framework were preserved.