How to use a die

Discussion in 'Horological Tools' started by Scottie-TX, Dec 8, 2013.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Scottie-TX

Scottie-TX Registered User
    Deceased

Apr 6, 2004
    Retired
    Mesquite, TX
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Y'alls know by now I'm not the brightest bulb on the tree but I should be able to do this: Now, I've used taps many times but this is my first attempt to use a die. I've got a 6-32 die. I'm trying to thread brass, .138 dia. I applied some Hoppes oil to die and rod. All that's happening is it chews the end off the rod - no threads. It ain't s'posedta work thatta way. Whut'm I doin' wrong? It is a split die held only snugly to a die handle. I've tried using both sides of die.

2. dAz57

dAz57 Registered User

Dec 7, 2011
    watchmaker
    sydney Australia
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    well if the rod is the correct size for the die and it is not biting in, try putting a taper on the end of the rod so the die can bite in.

3. Allan Wolff

Allan Wolff Moderator
    NAWCC Member

Mar 17, 2005
    Male
    Tulsa, OK
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Scottie,
    I will offer a few tips. Hopefully one will solve your problem.

The die needs to be perpendicular to the part being threaded. If it is at an angle, the threads will be crooked and the nut will wobble. This may also keep the die from starting.

Don't let the die wobble around, especially when starting the threads. This will cause a problem like you describe where it just chews up to end. To keep it from wobbling, both the part and die should be mechanically supported. Two options would be to put the work in the lathe headstock and hold the die with a holder in the tailstock. An alternative would be to hold the work in the chuck of a drill press and clamp the die to the table. Turn the drill press by hand.