German How to remove label?

Discussion in 'General Clock Discussions' started by Diana G., Jun 28, 2020.

Tags:
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Diana G.

Diana G. Registered User

May 18, 2020
    Female
    High School Teacher
    Bowling Green, Kentucky USA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Good evening! I am a new hobbyist and have a "new" old clock purchased on eBay. It has quite a few wormholes, especially on the back panel; I plan to treat the whole case with Tim-Bor per advice on another thread. Before treating, I need to remove the label from the back panel. I have a small steamer and thought I would try that first since this technique was reported as successful in a thread of the same title dated March 16, 2011. Exactly how should I proceed? Should I just steam the un-protected label? or cover it with something first?

Mauthe735841.1.jpg Mauthe735841.2.jpg Mauthe735841.3.jpg

2. Jessk09

Jessk09 Registered User

Feb 27, 2020
    Country Flag:
    I would cover it with Saran rap or something. These are wall clocks and you wouldn’t normally look at the back board

3. Jessk09

Jessk09 Registered User

Feb 27, 2020
    Country Flag:
    I could also cover some history of the mauthe brand(1898-1975)

4. Ralph

Ralph Registered User
    NAWCC Member Sponsor

Jan 22, 2002
    Country Flag:
    Remove the movement and all ferrous metal before steaming.

Ralph

5. Alex K

Alex K Registered User

Jun 20, 2020
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Hello Diana G.
    Just don't do anything with back side, since it is not visible normally. My advice.
    This label is nice, and best is to leave it on its place untouched.

6. PatH

PatH Registered User
    NAWCC Fellow NAWCC Member

Dec 5, 2014
    Female
    Texas
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: