Help How to let down a Mauthe mainspring?

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by Diana G., Jun 3, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Diana G.

Diana G. Registered User

May 18, 2020
    Female
    High School Teacher
    Bowling Green, Kentucky USA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I'm a beginner hobbyist and this movement is waaaay out of my league! I bought the clock on eBay thinking it included only the case. Wrong. Inside was a 3-lb. Mauthe movement: time, strike, and chime (no hands, pendulum, or chimes). My experience extends only to a few time & strike movements.

I would like to let down the mainsprings in this movement, then put it away until I have more experience. The ratchet gear is missing from the middle spring and the winding arbor comes out, so I suppose that spring is already let down. However, I cannot turn the winding arbors on either of the other two springs even a little to release the click from the ratchet. My questions are, does this mean I'm just not strong enough to wind these springs, or are they already wound up too far to go any more, or is something frozen and a little oil and patience will help? Should I pry the click away from the ratchet while holding on to the let-down key for dear life?

Mauthe 75272  16a.jpg Mauthe 75272 16b.jpg Mauthe 75272 16c.jpg

2. roughbarked

roughbarked Registered User

Dec 2, 2016
    watchmaker
    Western NSW or just this side of the black stump.
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    The mainsprings may indeed be fully wound and thus unable to have enough wind left to release a click. It should not be much trouble though to allow these ttrains to run a little in order to allow the tension to come off a little.