How common are pocket watches that can be both stem wound as well as key wound?

jph8881

Jul 30, 2020
Country
Hi,

Quick question- I'm new to pocket watch collecting and until I recently acquired an early Columbus pocket watch (late 1870's or early 1880's depending on where you look up the serial number) I didn't even realize that there were pocket watches manufactured that were able to be wound both by key as well as by stem within a single watch. I was previously under the impression that pocket watches were made to be wound by key or by stem, but not by both and now I'm curious if this is something that is common that I was oblivious to or if it's relatively uncommon.

I'm also confused as to why they would make them this way as I thought the appeal of the stem-wound watch when it came out was to avoid needing to wind it with a key. Were they made from key wound movements that were modified so that they could be stem-wound or were they manufactured with the intent to have both winding options? Seems confusing to me :/

Also, if they are relatively common, does anyone have any other examples they could point me to?

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:

rjb13

Feb 8, 2018
Country
Hello,