Help hour strike off by 1 at 1,2 & 3 oclock only

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by Clockinit, Nov 13, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Clockinit

Clockinit Registered User

Nov 4, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    I inherited a GF clock from My Pop-In-Law..It was an EMPEROR Kit Clock he built in 1969..It has a Erhart Jauch movement. I have 2 questions...It seems to keep good time. the tic-toc look and sound correct. But note the crutch adjustment, how off center it is...Is this OK? 2nd, and the main reason for this post is..The hour strikes are all correct except at 1 oclock it strike 2, 2 oclock strikes 3 and 3 ocklock strikes 4...all other hour strike are correct...any thoughts?..I'm new at this and don't want to dive in and satrt tearing things apart. Dad showed me how to take dials off, remove movements, where to oil etc... but he never showed me how to disassemble a movement..

movement1.jpg movement2.jpg

2. JimmyOz

JimmyOz Registered User

Feb 21, 2008
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Since you know how to take off the dial, take it off and post a photo of the front of the clock movement, it could just be a case of moving the snail one leaf on the cog.

As for the crutch, it is fine as it is, the pallets are a bit off compared to the crutch, however till it is in place you will be wasting your time messing with it.

3. bangster

bangster Moderator
    NAWCC Member

Jan 1, 2005
    utah
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Yep, we need to see the strike stuff on the front plate.

BTW, Welcome to the Message Board! :)

4. Dick Feldman

Dick Feldman Registered User

Sep 1, 2000
    Colorado, usa
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Welcome to the message board.
    The problem with the the beat adjuster not being centered.
    From your photo of the rear of the movement.