Hopkins & Lewis 8 Day Tall Case Clock

Discussion in 'Wood Movement Clocks' started by Dave Fuller, Feb 12, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Dave Fuller

Dave Fuller New Member

Jan 13, 2018
    Male
    Engineer
    Aurora, Ohio
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I inherited a tall case clock recently and am hoping for some information on it as well as some suggestions as to how to get it running reliably. I'm new to clocks so forgive me if my use of the terminology is off.

What I know:
    • The clock originally belonged to my 4th great-grandfather Joesph Fuller (1780 - 1859).
    • It was made in the mid 1820's 1825 by Orange or Asa Hopkins, and Luke Lewis.
    • It has an 8 day wood works movement.
    • I've leveled the movement and checked the beat which appears to be even.
    • The strike chain works properly; striking on the hour.
    • The day of the month also works. The day hand(?) needs to be fixed but I have the pieces.
    • The time train will run for about 2 hours but then will stop. If move the great anti-clockwise slightly it will run for another 2 hours.
    What I'd like to know:
    • Who made the movement? It doesn't look like any of the Terry movements I've seen.
    • What could be causing the time train to hang? I don't see any broken, cracked or chipped gears.
    Any help or information you can provide will be greatly appreciated.

Dave
    DSCF8420.JPG DSCF8429.JPG DSCF8427.JPG DSCF8425.JPG DSCF8424.JPG DSCF8423.JPG DSCF8421.JPG

2. Jim DuBois

Jim DuBois Registered User
    NAWCC Member Sponsor

Jun 14, 2008
    Male
    Magnolia, TX
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    "Asa Hopkins was a resident of the Northfield section of Litchfield and probably started to
    make thirty-hour tall clock wood movements about 1809 or 1810. In 1815 he started a new factory