Historic Clock in Tallahassee, FL, Is the Clock Face Familiar

Discussion in 'Tower, Monumental & Street Clocks' started by Friends of Laura, Feb 28, 2016.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Friends of Laura

Friends of Laura New Member

Feb 28, 2016
    Country Flag:
    1977, clock face.jpg Clock Tower, 1977, side entrance.jpg RP06026.jpg
    This was a clock tower erected in Tallahassee, FL by Calvin Phillips between 1910 and 1919. It was demolished in the mid 1980's and only a few pictures of it remain. I am an amateur historian researching his life and the face of this clock puzzles me. The normal Roman numeral or numbers on the face are instead crosses? The closest thing I have found as a possible inspiration is the hands of the Thomas clock on Independence Hall which is a cross-shaped hour arm. Any help or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

2. FDelGreco

FDelGreco Registered User
    NAWCC Star Fellow NAWCC Member Sponsor

Aug 28, 2000
    Male
    Retired chemical engineer
    Novelty, OH
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    #2 FDelGreco, Feb 28, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 29, 2017
    Welcome to the message board. Maybe I could shed some light on this.

A number of years ago I bought a German tower clock, ca. 1880s,that came out of a building in Hanover Germany. It came with the original 28 inch dial. The dial, though peeling, had been painted white with what looked like house paint. The hour markers were simple rectangular marks of black paint. No minute marks.