Henri Marc clock - need to replace washer which holds hands in place

NigelW

Jan 2, 2015
London and Kent
Country
One of the problems of being a largely self-taught clock restorer is that you have to learn more by making mistakes that if you were learning at the feet of an established master.

A mistake I have now made more then once is not to secure the taper pin holding the hands in place sufficiently tightly. This has now bitten me again. When resetting the hands of my Henri Marc I noticed that both the pin and the washer behind it were missing and there was no sign of them on the mantelpiece or the hearth below which in any event would have been hoovered two days ago by our cleaner.

I now need to make a new washer, which will be good practice on the lathe, but I can't remember exactly what the original one looked like or was made of. Should I use steel, then blacken it to match the hands, or brass? Unfortunately I don't have any clear photos of the clock before the mishap.

henry marc clock 1.jpg

bruce linde

ADMIN / MODERATOR
NAWCC Member
Donor
Nov 13, 2011
oakland, ca.
clockhappy.com
Country
Region
yes... lay in a small supply of washers and pins from timesavers. you’ll use ‘em.

Uhralt

NAWCC Member
Sep 4, 2008
Country
Region
Two of my French clocks have flat brass washers, the other 2 have domed steel washer. I guess you can pick what you like. When there is little space between the minute hand and the hole for the pin a flat washer will be easier to fit. These washers are tiny and rather thin. I doubt that the Timesavers 100 pack will have these sizes. Best to make one (or several) yourself.

Uhralt

bruce linde

ADMIN / MODERATOR
NAWCC Member
Donor
Nov 13, 2011
oakland, ca.
clockhappy.com
Country
Region
i’ve flattened many a domed washer in my vise... and also thinned them using 600/2000 wet/dry sandpaper. one size does not fit all. :)

Willie X

Feb 9, 2008
To keep the pin in place you can 'scarify' it by turning it in any type drill or pin vise.