$ HELP!

we7hills

Nov 6, 2020
Country
I just inherited a small, 14K pocket watch (Half-hunter - open glass over face?) with no identification on the movement, but a serial number on the outer case that matches the number on the inner case (METAL 156768) and very light hand engraving BR1910B (or R?) and another engraving that looks like Mc 4708 or 4718, or 17/18? also on the outer case, and a little push-button to change the time with the crown. No manufacturer name on case or movement.
I am a newbie here. Any help identifying and valuing this piece would be appreciated. I was able to wind it up and it seems to be keeping good time! :)
Thanks in advance!

01 Face.jpg 02 face.jpg 03 back.jpg 04 button.jpg 05 open.jpg 06 inner.jpg 07 movement.jpg 08 14k & SN.jpg 09 back inside.jpg 10 SN.jpg 11 BR1910B.jpg 12 Mc17 18.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

musicguy

Staff member
NAWCC Member
Sponsor
Jan 12, 2017
New York State
Country
moving Swiss watch to European section

Welcome to the NAWCC forum

Rob

Reactions: we7hills

richiec

NAWCC Member
Feb 24, 2007
Brick, Ocean, NJ
Country
Region
we7hills, what I can tell you is that the inner cover is base metal, not gold, it is a Swiss watch of moderate quality with a nice dial. Probably made in the mid to last quarter of the 19th century. There may be some marks under the dial that may help in identifying the maker but I wouldn't hold out much hope of that. The small etching below metal is a watchmakers mark and may be from 1910 or maybe not, most watchmakers had their own systems to denote what the repairs were and without their ledgers we are clueless. Other more accomplished European watch enthusiasts may come a long later and give you more information.

we7hills

Nov 6, 2020
Country