• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center are currently open. Please check the Visiting Schedule for Days and Hours at the bottom of the Visit Page.

Help to put it back.It dropped and not sure how to put it back in.Begging for a sample photo of

MuseChaser

NAWCC Member
Feb 5, 2019
Country
Region
Mary Pete ---

I'm very new at this stuff, so I might not have this exactly correct but I'll try and get you started. The short story is that I think there's a part missing... the suspension spring... that is not shown in either of your pictures. I've annotated your pictures and the letters and numbers below refer to those pictures..

backplate.jpg Parts.jpg

Okay.. the middle part, indicated by "A" in the picture on the right, is the anchor or verge that engages and regulates the escape wheel inside the movement. There should be a little thin pin, called a pivot, protruding from the spindle indicated by "A" and that pin would probably fit into the hole marked "B" in that other part (the "saddle," I think). It looks like the saddle would be held, through holes 1 and 2, to the backplate using screws 1 and 2 in the picture on the left, but I can't tell for SURE, and you want to look inside the movement to make sure those screws are not holding ANYTHING else in place before loosening them.

Under no circumstances should you loosen any screws that hold the front plate of the movement to the backplate of the movement (shown in the picture on the left) without FULLY releasing the mainsprings.

At the other end of the spindle ("A"), called an "arbor," should be another tiny pin that will go into a matching hole in the front plate that I can't quite make out in your picture, but it should be somewhere around where arrow "F" indicates. If the anchor is installed correctly, it should rotate freely and the two little tiny curved pieces of metal protruding from the anchor (called "pallets") should alternately engage teeth in the escape wheel just below it inside the movement.