• Upcoming updates
    Over the next couple of weeks we will be performing software updates on the forum. These will be completed in small steps as we upgrade individual software addons. You might occasionally see a maintenance message that will last a few minutes at most.

If we anticipate an update will take more than a few minutes, we'll put up a notice with estimated time.

Thank you!

HELP - Identification of Wittnauer Watch

darkmagnuz

Nov 10, 2022
Country
Hello,

Newbie here. I just bought this watch. The seller told me that this is a 1950's Longines Wittnauer Watch, but checking the Longines serial identifier (because I cannot find one for Wittnauer) but the serial 2459088 shows it is produced in 1910. Can you help me identify what exact watch this is and what year it was produced?

Thank you in advance.

GridArt_20221110_150108499.jpg

JTD

Sep 27, 2005
Country
Hello,

Newbie here. I just bought this watch. The seller told me that this is a 1950's Longines Wittnauer Watch, but checking the Longines serial identifier (because I cannot find one for Wittnauer) but the serial 2459088 shows it is produced in 1910. Can you help me identify what exact watch this is and what year it was produced?

Thank you in advance.

View attachment 735669

I don't think the number in the case is the serial number of the watch, I think it is the serial number of the case.

However, I am not expert in watches and others may know more/better.

I can see the AXA mark on the movement, which is the Swiss import mark for Wittnauer. I expect others will be able to say who made it.

JTD

Reactions: darkmagnuz

darkmagnuz

Nov 10, 2022
Country
I don't think the number in the case is the serial number of the watch, I think it is the serial number of the case.

However, I am not expert in watches and others may know more/better.

I can see the AXA mark on the movement, which is the Swiss import mark for Wittnauer. I expect others will be able to say who made it.

JTD