Hair springs

dutch

Jan 6, 2003
Oxnard,CA
Country
Region
I have had very little experience with hairsprings.Is the only way to regulate timekeeping by shortning or lengthing the hairspring?

I am working on my own Seth thomas ships bell clock and the reason I started it was gaining about an hour a day and the hairspring was pinned at the end so it could not be lengthened. I replaced it with one from an assortment that I bought from Timesavers. It was then running hours a day slow so I took about an inch off and it still was way slow so I took another inch off and it has lost over two hours in the last twelve.It looks like if I remove any more that the hair spring will be deformed and will have the coils touching each other. I suspect that this would not be good.

Any one have any advice?

Thanks, Dutch

dutch

Jan 6, 2003
Oxnard,CA
Country
Region
I have had very little experience with hairsprings.Is the only way to regulate timekeeping by shortning or lengthing the hairspring?

I am working on my own Seth thomas ships bell clock and the reason I started it was gaining about an hour a day and the hairspring was pinned at the end so it could not be lengthened. I replaced it with one from an assortment that I bought from Timesavers. It was then running hours a day slow so I took about an inch off and it still was way slow so I took another inch off and it has lost over two hours in the last twelve.It looks like if I remove any more that the hair spring will be deformed and will have the coils touching each other. I suspect that this would not be good.

Any one have any advice?

Thanks, Dutch

RJSoftware

Apr 15, 2005
Loxahatchee, Florida
Country
Region
Hello dutch;

Basically that is how I tuned mine. But I did not obtain new hairspring and keep cutting down.

Your suppose to first pin the hairspring near the end.

Then remove power from mainspring, then line up 3 axis.

The balance wheel arbor, the pin and the lever arm arbor.