Gustav Becker wall clock issue

JohnHugill

Apr 15, 2016
Country
Good afternoon, illustrious members of this group.
Thank you in anticipation....
I am an amateur. But I love clocks. And even more importantly still, I love stuff that works correctly.
So... I have a GB wall clock that chimes, on occasion, the hour at the half hour instead. Other times it chimes correctly.
So, for example, at three thirty, when it should only chime "ding, dong," it chimes three times, "ding, dong, ding dong, ding dong."
(I am feeling a little silly right now).
And it does it from time to time at other half hours. Last night it chimed ten times at 10:30
Other times it chimes as I said, as it should.
Anyway, seriously, I love clocks (I have also a grandfather GB in my living room) and have taken this wall clock for repair to two different shops. ,
And after spending 5 months in my second fellow's home who has a clock repair business out of his home, It has come back the same.
I'm tempted to just let it go, but the inner me REALLY wants it right.
I called this latter fellow who "supposedly" fixed it before, and he tells me it was fine when it was in his shop so I'm done with him.
Any ideas?
Should I get someone else? Perhaps I might get some insight from this group before proceeding to my next repair person.
And I do appreciate your consideration.
Thank you again.

harold bain

NAWCC Member
Deceased
Nov 4, 2002
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Country
Region
Hi, John. welcome to the message board. Do you know enough about your clock to tell if it is rack and snail, or a countwheel movement? A few pictures of what you have and the movement in particular, would be needed to offer any suggestions. It is difficult in a clock repair shop to hear one clock over all the others to notice a problem like this.

JohnHugill

Apr 15, 2016
Country