Good dry lube for metronome

D.th.munroe

Feb 15, 2018
BC Canada
Country
Region
I rarely work on newer stuff like this but doing this as a favour.
Just wondering if anyone knows of a good dry lube for Wittner metronome mainsprings? or should I just use a normal synthetic?
They are plastic barrels and labeled "use no oil" but the lifetime lube has failed and is quite sticky.
Thanks
Dan

MuseChaser

NAWCC Member
Feb 5, 2019
Country
Region
As a musician, my favorite metronome of all time is the Franz electric. None of the purely mechanical metronomes were ever precise/even enough to be worth using for anyone other than a beginning musician with a severely hampered sense of "time." Even then, the almost always lopsided nature of the beat of the mechanicals created future bad habits. One drummer I used to work with (emphasis on "used to") probaby practiced with a Wittner.....sigh...

I know that doesn't answer your question....but, unlike almost ANY old mechanical clock, I view incinerating a mechanical metronome to be a mercy killing....if there is such a thing....

Reactions: D.th.munroe

glenhead

NAWCC Member
Nov 15, 2009
Williamson County, Texas
Country
Region
"Plastic barrels" is the kicker here. Petroleum-based oils will deteriorate most plastics over time because most plastics are made from petroleum extracts.

(If you know this, my apologies. This might help someone in the future.) It sounds like the "lifetime lube" has either evaporated or gotten dirty, possibly both. You'll need to pull the springs and clean them well. For cleaning I'd start with something benign like Simple Green (please, let's not spasm into a war over cleaning solutions here) and if that didn't work try mineral spirits or kerosene, followed by Simple Green. I follow the Simple Green with a good rinse in hot water and a swish in denatured alcohol, then a trip to the hair dryer.

Here's a link to a good write-up on lubricant compatibility:
Lubricant/plastic interaction