Gilbert clock won't stay running

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by heifetz17, May 12, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. heifetz17

heifetz17 Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Apr 8, 2015
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hi guys, I'm fairly new to clock repair so I'm a little stumped right now. I picked up an old Gilbert mantle clock that wouldn't run, took it apart, ultra sonic cleaned it, oiled, reassembled, and it's been running fine for a week. Today out of the blue it stopped. Thinking it just needed to be wound, I wound it, but it will only run for several seconds and stop.

It's in beat and very even, the hands are not touching, and pendulum is not touching anything, there's no interference that I can see. Where can I begin my troubleshooting?

2. Clocks In The Grove

Clocks In The Grove Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Dec 3, 2011
    Male
    Oregon
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    H-17 did you put in any bushings? Are any of the pivot holes in your mantel clock oblong? If so then your train is being robbed of power. Did you lube the main springs? My guess is a loss of power caused by wear. Remove the power and push back and forth on the second wheel and look for pivots moving in their holes. If you see then flopping then I think you have found your problem.
    It is now time to sign off and go to bed for me.
    ..Bob..

3. heifetz17

NAWCC Member

Apr 8, 2015
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Ah, thank you Bob! It seems you hit the nail on the head. I did find some slight movement in two of the pivot holes, so I'll install some bushings and go from there. Thank you!

4. R. Croswell

R. Croswell Registered User

Apr 4, 2006
    Male
    Trappe, Md.
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: