• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center are currently open. Please check the Visiting Schedule for Days and Hours at the bottom of the Visit Page.

Eureka German Eureka clock?

Weight Driven

May 24, 2004
Country
I have a Eureka type large balance wheel type clock that I believe is a German Eureka clock, but am unsure. Obviously in need of restoration, the clock is substantially made and heavy for it's size. If not for that clear plastic dial, would present itself as a more expensive clock. I have never worked on anything like this before but would like to try. Are they difficult to work on? My question is is this a German made Eureka clock and would it be worth the effort to restore? Thanks for any guidance with this.

Attachments

eskmill

NAWCC Fellow
NAWCC Member
Aug 24, 2000
Region
Hard to determine from the photos if English or German origin. The post WWI German versions I've seen have a large sector to adjust the "hair spring." The sector is missing in your photos along with most of the hairspring.

English version was only made for a few years and serial numbered if from the factory. It is thought that many more were made of surplus parts without serial numbers, yet of English origin.

German versions were made Post WWI and are very similar.

Neither had the transformer/rectifier in the base and were made to operate on two dry cells.

The Eureka clock, an American invention are much sought after and interesting in operation; especially those cased where the balance wheel is visible.

Personally, they've always been "out-of-reach" for me but I admire them.

eskmill

NAWCC Fellow
NAWCC Member
Aug 24, 2000
Region
A little more browsing reveals that the Eureka battery clock was designed to operate using a single 1.5 volt dry cell.