• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center will reopen starting Wednesday, January 6, 2021 as per Governor Wolf's reopening mandate.

Gents Gents C7 Pulsynetic Master Clock Power Supply

clive449

May 12, 2017
Country
304900.jpg 304901.jpg 304902.jpg

I purchased this stunning Gents master clock from an auction after falling for its industrial good looks. I have no experience of owning clocks or in this case powering them, so was hoping I could get some advice on how to power, set up and run the clock. Serial No: 9232 Date 10-01-1955
I will only be powering the master clock as have no need for slave clocks around the house. If possible I would like to power the clock direct from the house mains, and do away with batteries and recharging.
In the back of the cabinet is a sticker from a previous owner stating that the clock can be operated from a 4.5volt battery, so potentially has the clock ben adapted/adjusted?
I was considering purchasing a multi volt mains adaptor that can supply a range of voltages,
The following specification is for one off eBay.
Input: AC 100-240V 0.25A 50/60Hz 12W UK 3 Pin Plug
Output: DC 3, 4.5, 5, 6, 7.5, 9, 12V
USB output: 5.0V 2.1A

I am aware that it is the amp rating that is critical so could you advise on the most suitable supply and how and where exactly I would attach the supply to the clock.

How do I start the clock and set the time?

Any help, knowledge or guidance would be much appreciated, and please consider I am a carpenter rather than an electrician, so layman terms if you can.
Clive

Hans Vrolijk

NAWCC Member
Jan 7, 2005
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
www.vrolijk-clocks.nl
Country
Region
There should be a terminal on the right upper inner site of the case. You need 220 milli amps so a power supply as mentioned will do_On the back of the frame is a lever: by pulling the rope the contact closes on every swing of the pendulum and the dial slave will advance.