Gebr. Junghans plate 1625

whatgoesaround

Jan 22, 2008
south carolina
Country
Region
I recently received this clock. I believe it to be plate 1625 which seems to go with the shield face and the disk with the two balls as a temperature compensating pendulum. The plate matches, but the rest is a different clock. However, there is only one way for the movement to attach and it does it correctly. The support columns sit closer to the center than my other anniversary clocks. I think it belongs, but I am a novice compared to the others on this site and I would love to know what you think. Then comes the pendulum. I can find it nowhere in the book. It certainly does not look homemade. It is quite reminiscent of the Badische 5 ball pendulum, but there are many differences. The support bars to each ball are not like the Badische and the disk around the bottom ball is quite unique, the knurled knob is thicker than most and the knurled design is also on the balls;the top ball is more acorn-like. Is this some strange marriage or could it all be original? BTW the serial number is 32190. Oh, another interesting feature is how to set the beat: the anchor pin moves on the achor instead of moving the suspension spring.

Attachments

Last edited:

etmb61

NAWCC Member
Oct 25, 2010
Mascoutah, IL
Country
Region
Wow, I didn't realize what that was and passed it by.:(

I believe the pendulum is correct. The next lower numbered clocks I have data for (32108 and 31679) both have squared off shield dials and that pendulum. Number 32108 has the same hands too.

The only thing I find odd about this is the dial.

Nice catch!

Eric

Ingulphus

May 29, 2006
Oakland, CA
Country
Region