English GB clock

A.payne

Mar 5, 2021
Oxfordshire, UK
Country
Region
Good afternoon (in the UK)
This is my first time on the site and I’m trying to find something out about a clock that my grandmother had, which is now with me. It is not working and I do intend to get it restored but before I do I’m trying to find out a little about it.
the clock face it self has a symbol of what looks like an anchor with a crown and I’ve looked on line and it seems like it could be a Gustav Becker. I will add some photos at the end. I was told that someone made the clock for my Nan in the 1940’s but this is not clear it looks handmade but there are no details I can find on the casing itself, or the clock apart from the symbol on the face.
can anyone give me some advice on where I should be looking please?

Inside case Front view Clock dial

Last edited by a moderator:

JTD

Sep 27, 2005
Country
Welcome to the board.

If you can remove the movement from the case and post a clear photo of the back plate, it may be possible to date your GB clock.

JTD

A.payne

Mar 5, 2021
Oxfordshire, UK
Country
Region
Welcome to the board.

If you can remove the movement from the case and post a clear photo of the back plate, it may be possible to date your GB clock.

JTD
Oh gosh, I wouldn’t attempt to take the back off. I’ve taken some photos of the mechanism but I can’t get any closer.
I can see two small circles which look like they would have information on but even with a torch I can’t see anything that could be written on it.
these are the best I can get.

69533911-EBE1-4C79-A2B6-BFEF095C9D07.jpeg 6641F6EB-44EA-4FF4-8B3E-8566966D9B6B.jpeg AB23A32A-DBA7-4F24-8915-E7108E3E48FE.jpeg 0DC5F7B9-FC89-40EB-BF25-4ABF32EF4A35.jpeg

KurtinSA

NAWCC Member
Nov 24, 2014
San Antonio, TX
Country
Region