Garryflex for polishing pivots

Phil G4SPZ

NAWCC Member
Oct 18, 2018
Bewdley, Worcestershire, UK
Country
Region
Garryflex is a rubber compound impregnated with silicon carbide abrasive particles. The Museum, where I work as a volunteer horologist, use it for cleaning rust etc from cast iron and other artefacts, and they gave me a piece of the 240-grit material. A finer 320-grit version is available too.

I have recently been using it to polish clock pivots, where the arbor is rotated slowly in the lathe (or by hand) and the soft Garryflex block is gently pressed onto the pivot. I then push the pivot into some pithwood.

It works a treat and is less risky than burnishing, particularly with fine pivots found in 400-day clocks. Obviously this process won’t restore badly damaged pivots but definitely improves the surface finish of undamaged pivots. It will also impart a shine to and remove tarnish from steel arbors.

74C751D3-314F-4231-9F88-CE5F9260E2FA.jpeg

Phil

wefalck

Mar 29, 2011
Paris
Country
I have been using a product called arc-o made by a (German) company Artiflex. Seems to be similar. Very useful indeed to clean metal parts without significantly altering their shape.

Reactions: Phil G4SPZ

Phil G4SPZ

NAWCC Member
Oct 18, 2018
Country
Region
Hi Mike, and hello again to you, Eberhard! I hope you’re both well.

I recall back in my childhood that you could buy a hard, abrasive rubber that was designed to clean rust and tarnish off the surface of the rails of model railway layouts, to improve electrical contact with the locomotive wheels, a problem well known to all railway modellers... I now recognise that product must have been Garryflex, or something like it.

I only mentioned its efficacy in polishing pivots because I’d never seen it discussed in clock circles before.

Phil

Reactions: MuseChaser

D.th.munroe

Feb 15, 2018
BC Canada
Country
Region
They are quite handy, Cratex is another similar rubberized abrasive.