Future NAWCC Museum Exhibit on Watches of the American Civil War

Discussion in 'American Pocket Watches' started by Clint Geller, Mar 3, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Clint Geller

Clint Geller Registered User
    Gibbs Literary Award NAWCC Fellow NAWCC Member

Jul 12, 2002
    Male
    I am a research physicist at a government lab
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    #1 Clint Geller, Mar 3, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2017
    Nothing is chiseled in stone yet, but it appears I will be guest curating a temporary exhibit at the NAWCC HQ Museum on Watches of the American Civil War. I am trying to design an exhibit that will be as rewarding for watch collectors as for the general public. (The exact title, like everything else, is still TBD.) We are looking at some time in 2019, and I am hoping to get approval to open the exhibit with a one-day on-site mini-seminar on Saturday, June 29, 2019, just two days before the 156'th anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg, which took place just about 43 miles away. (There is usually a lot of activity around Gettysburg on battle anniversaries, and I'm hoping to attract a few of the more horologically inclined Civil War relic collectors to the museum, as well as some horologists who are also interested in the Civil War and the Battle of Gettysburg.) The exhibit likely will run from six to eight months (again, details TBD.) In addition to the museum staff, I am looking to the NAWCC membership and beyond for participation, support and additional ideas.