Help Fusee movement keeps stalling out on stop arm

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by Inciter, Nov 8, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Inciter

Inciter New Member

Oct 30, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    I have a simple fusee movement clock that stalls out on the stop arm. The chain will wrap 3 times around the cylinder then get stalled out by the stop arm. When the stop arm reaches its upper limit it begins to rub against the coiled up chain, as a result the clock stalls out. I am a novice at clock repair, any help is appreciated.

Would it help to file the nose of the stop arm down to allow it to clear the coiled up chain.
    There is a bit of play around the pivot point of the stop arm.
    Thanks again, Cheers.

AD8E1FD0-5D84-4824-8526-4EB804F35024.jpeg FCD8E270-5F87-418C-B50C-6E91CC22BEBB.jpeg

2. wow

wow Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jun 24, 2008
    Male
    Retired Music Minister
    Pineville, La. (central La.)
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    If you let down the power on the mainspring is there a lot of play in the arbors? You may need to bush the arbors in the Barrell and the plates of the fusee come if there is a lot of wobble. The barrell and the fusee come must be aligned.

3. shutterbug

shutterbug Moderator
    NAWCC Member

Oct 19, 2005
    Male
    Self employed interpreter/clock repairer
    Iowa
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I wonder if the chain is just a bit too long for the fusee? How much chain is left at the end of a week?

4. John MacArthur

John MacArthur Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Feb 13, 2007
    #4 John MacArthur, Nov 9, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2019