French mantel clock

Baz

Apr 7, 2004
I have finally got a clock with a Japy Freres movement and I have pulled it apart to fix up an intermittent stopping problem. I consider that the problem is due to a dirty mainspring and it certainly was well gummed up when I got it out of the barrel.
I am seeking opinions as to whether it should be replaced since it has not expanded very much when released.
What do you think ?
Also what is the purpose of the bolt on 'shoes' on the back plate ? Did they add the feature to make it easier to reassemble ? !!!

Thanks, Baz

Attachments

Tom Kloss

NAWCC Member
Dec 5, 2003
N.E. Pennsylvania
Country
Region
Baz said:
...Also what is the purpose of the bolt on 'shoes' on the back plate ? Did they add the feature to make it easier to reassemble ? !!!
Hi,
I'm no expert on French clock movements. I'm sure someone will come along and give us the proper name for the "shoes" as you say. They do seem to be common the French round movements. I've always wondered about the value of the center one myself. :?| The one on the strike train is certainly helpful in synchronizing the strike side as it allows the pinion end of the star wheel shaft to be adjusted. :cool:

P.S. IMHO, since these movements have rather small barrels, the expansion size of the spring for your clock looks good to me providing it is a proper fill for the barrel.

Tom :cool:

[colour=blue]“Sometimes you really don’t know if your being rewarded or punished”[/colour]

shutterbug

Staff member
NAWCC Member
Oct 19, 2005
North Carolina
Country
Region
Hi Baz! I would not assume that your problem is spring related, even though it was quite dirty. It could be, but my guess is that it's another problem instead. As long as you have the clock disassembled, check other potential problems too.

dholk

Feb 8, 2007
Fort Walton Beach, FL
Country
Region