French Clock Info Sought

Discussion in 'General Clock Discussions' started by timelyrestorations, Oct 13, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. timelyrestorations

timelyrestorations Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jan 26, 2001
    Country Flag:
    Hi all;

Just picked this one up. Beautiful French clock with a figure at top. The only markings I can find are L P stamped on the gong stand, which I assume to be Japy & Cie. A couple of questions which I hope someone can answer: 1). Is there a name for this particular style of clock? 2). Would the figure on top be Diana the huntress? 3). any way of determining approximate age? Thanks in advance.

Doug

diana1.JPG diana2.JPG diana3.JPG diana4.JPG

2. Steven Thornberry

Steven Thornberry User Administrator
    NAWCC Member Donor

Jan 15, 2004
    Male
    Ne’er do well
    Here and there
    Country Flag:
    I'm no expert here, but are you assuming that the "L P" on the gong stand indicates Louis P. Japy? I would have to wonder. Can you provide pictures of the gong stand and, more importantly, the movement?

3. timelyrestorations

NAWCC Member

Jan 26, 2001
    Country Flag:
    "LP" stamping, and movement. Sorry, movement picture not very clear, but it is a typical French round time and strike style.

diana5.JPG diana6.JPG

4. Steven Thornberry

Steven Thornberry User Administrator
    NAWCC Member Donor

Jan 15, 2004
    Male
    Ne’er do well
    Here and there
    Country Flag:
    Searching briefly, I find we have seen this L.P. before on a gong block, in this thread: Please help identify this carriage clock!. If it were Japy, I would expect L.P. Japy and that it be on the movement, not the gong block, like here: FRENCH CLOCK.
    For another example of L.P., it was suggested that it might Leon Paget, but I'm not so sure in your case. Post Your Comtoise (Morbier/Morez) Clocks Here.