Franz hermle clock

Moudhi

Apr 18, 2021
Country
Hello,
I have a franz hermle grandfather clock that my father bought from a furniture shop.
I live in kuwait
The clock is broken and doesn’t work as far as i know.
I tried looking inside through the side acces panel to see if i can pin point the issue exactly.
But i have no knowledge when it comes to clocks
the first thing I figured was that the gear holding one of the cables that carries one of the weights is loose and we can’t attach the weight to it
I wanted to know if i can get any help on maybe figuring out what the clock need.
My father already once contacted someone to help fix the clock but they didn’t seem to know how to.
I have tried taking some photos i hope they are of help

5E9AD28B-6843-43DF-A48E-D514C1F4557C.jpeg D28E1695-FC49-400F-9759-033C3984E688.jpeg 7E20325F-696A-4E26-9A1B-95B1BE63621B.jpeg 84C5A503-F17D-495D-BDC7-DEF5B49261CF.jpeg 97EE317D-636D-4BEB-921B-E7C6722450A4.jpeg EE5BC687-08B1-4F07-A617-74394D3B328B.jpeg E5C527B3-E3B4-418D-9033-0BFDBE21D8F7.jpeg C89EA557-1258-44EA-B395-A77EB71A13FD.jpeg BAB426E8-6BA3-4FF1-BD75-D7A8DAA18103.jpeg

John P

NAWCC Member
Sep 17, 2010
North Carolina
Country
Region
In your last picture we can see the pulley and hook for the strike side. what happens when you try hanging the weight on it? Does it fall? Is the weight in pieces? You may have a broken mainwheel click.
Need more info.

Jaap

Mar 6, 2013
Country
When you look at the attatched youtube movie you can see that barrel for the strike is wound up and down. For shure a click spring problem.

Moudhi

Apr 18, 2021
Country
In your last picture we can see the pulley and hook for the strike side. what happens when you try hanging the weight on it? Does it fall? Is the weight in pieces? You may have a broken mainwheel click.
Need more info.
We actually tried attaching the weight before and it falls. Also, if the mainwheel is indeed broken, how do we fix it? Or do we simply buy an entirely new one?

shutterbug