Fortunate Find: Tall Case Clock with Wooden Movement

taroy1

Dec 4, 2012
Herndon, Virginia
I have been very fortunate and am excited about inheriting a beautiful tall case clock with a wooden movement. I am a semi-accomplished woodworker and am comfortable with the proper restoration techniques to repair some damage to the clock’s hood. However, I hope to tap into the wealth of knowledge here to answer a few questions about the wooden movement and to aid me in its restoration. I’ve acquired John Tope’s DVD series on repairing wooden movements and found the techniques therein to be well within my abilities.

My father recently found the clock in an elderly cousin’s attic as they were emptying the contents of the house. He acquired a family photograph from 1967 with the clock in the background of their living room. A repair tag dated 1949 was still attached to the bell with the family’s name and address on it. My father was told by the cousin that the clock was returned from the repair shop without repairs being done. So, there it sat in their attic for several decades.

On the dial is “S. Thomas, Plymouth”. Otherwise, there are no other markings on any other part of the cabinet, dial, or movement. With that information and the fact that it has a wooden movement, am I right that this is likely a 180-200 year old piece?

I’ve included several numbered photos to highlight some of my specific questions.

01.jpg 02.jpg 03.jpg 04.jpg 05.jpg 06.jpg 07.jpg 08.jpg 09.jpg 10.jpg 11.jpg 12.jpg 13.jpg 14.jpg

#5 - This photo shows that there is a false-bottom at the base of the cabinet’s waste that I was able to lift up via a leather tab. Was this a typical feature of tall case clocks and what was its purpose?