Flea Market Find

Discussion in 'Clock Case Restoration and Repair' started by ScotSun, Apr 23, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. ScotSun

ScotSun Registered User

Nov 28, 2017
    Male
    Computers
    Newark, DE
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I found this at a flea market this weekend for $35...

upload_2018-4-23_12-53-24.png

...I was amazed to find that it appears to be in perfect working order with the original pendulum and key. I have not yet pulled the movement to look closer.

What I was wondering, as I am still fairly new to this, is what can be done to the case? It is a duller wood tone with little visible grain and a wide variety of scuffs and abraisions. I am not sure if the spindles are not replacements as the seem taller and more elaborate than other ST steeple clock pics I am seeing on the web. I also do not think I have any where near the skills to try and touch up the dial face damage.

But any suggestions on "refreshing" the case finish would be greatly appreciated.

2. Bruce Alexander

Bruce Alexander Registered User
    Sponsor NAWCC Brass Member

Feb 22, 2010
    Male
    Retired, not tired
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    #2 Bruce Alexander, Apr 23, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2018
    Congrats ScotSun.

Nice pick for not much money. After a good clean up with Murphy's Oil Soap for Wood, consider applying "Old English Scratch Cover for Dark Woods" as a minimally invasive approach to cover or blend out scratches, scrapes and nicks in a finish. It's an inexpensive, easy to use polish. Walmart carries it. I'm sure other retailers do also. A little goes a long way. After that has dried, I would finish up with a coat or two of a good furniture paste wax.