First 6 books in clock repair and building?

Discussion in 'Horological Books' started by David H., May 6, 2009.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. David H.

David H. Registered User

May 2, 2009
    New electronic product design. Inventor/Engineer.
    Split time between Northern California and Norther
    Country Flag:
    In trying to find the first books to buy about clock repair and clock building I’ve gone through roughly 600 threads here at the NAWCC message board.
    Most of the books listed below are mentioned more than once by more than one person.

Here’s what would be extremely helpful.

1. Please either remove books listed below or add books not listed to create a “must have” list of 6 books or less.
    (Hopefully based on books you have actually used/read.) (Please no than 6 books for now.)

2.Please place them in the order that they should read.
    (I am a complete beginner to clock repairing and building.)

The Clock Repair Primer ------------ Philip Balcomb
    The Clock Repair First Reader -------Philip Balcomb
    Clock Repair Basics-------------------Steven Conover
    Striking Clock Repair Guide----------Steven Conover
    The Modern Clock --------------------Ward Goodrich
    The Clock Repairers Handbook-------Laurie Penman
    A Practical Course in Clock Repair---John P. Kenyon
    Practical Clock Repairing-------------Donald DeCarle
    This Old Clock-------------------------David Goodman
    The Best of Jesse Coleman, Clockmaker compiled by Orville Hagens

Thanks in advance for your help.

2. harold bain

harold bain Registered User
    NAWCC Member Deceased

Nov 4, 2002
    Male
    deceased
    Whitby, Ontario, Canada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: